Rotary Club of Calcutta Renaissance
Rotary International District 3291
Chartered on 22nd February, 2006
                                                                       Rotary International Site  |  District 3291 Site





Past Presidents
 & Secretaries


Rotary Club of Calcutta Renaissance was chartered and recognised by Rotary International on 22nd February, 2006, one day before the birthday of Rotary - World Peace and Understanding Day - 23rd February.

The charter members were mostly past Rotaractors, who had to leave the movement as they pass a certain age limit. Thus, even though the club was new, its members had previous knowledge of the Rotary movement and basic club administration know-how. Also it brought together many familiar friends together which enhanced the unity of the club as a whole. So its members are of a slightly young age-group compared to other Rotary Clubs.

The Charter was handed over by the club sponsor, Rotary Club of Calcutta, the oldest running club in the mainland of Asia, to charter President Rtn. Sameer Kothari on 14th April 2006. Its members are ever thankful to Rotary Club of Calcutta, for sponsoring this club in 2005-06.


RCCR adopted an orphanage run by an individual at a village called Paushi, near Contai, East Midnapur in 2006, referred by Rtn. Srijit Maitra, and ever since the club is supporting this orphanage with whatever resources that is being gathered. Long term projects at this orphanage and eventually at Paushi village are on the cards. (See for details.)

RCCR is also associated with the organisation of the first job fair in eastern India - J4U, the seventh fair being organised on 12th & 13th January 2008, along with Rotary Club of Calcutta. This job fair provides a common platform for job givers and job seekers under one roof, thus paving the way for effective recruitment. (See and for details.)


After Rtn. Sameer, the second President of the club was Rtn. Prakash Nahata, and the third was Rtn. Niharendu Chakravarty. Following them was Rtn. Srijit Maitra.
The current President is Rtn. Nawneet Sodhani.


2006-2007 Sameer Kothari Suman K. Sarbadhikari
2007-2008 Prakash Nahata Shishir Riyanwala *
2008-2009 Niharendu Chakravarty Mausam Lihala
2009-2010 Srijit Maitra Sanjeeb Gandhi
2010-11 Mausal Lihala Amitava Dasgupta
2011-12 Suman K. Sarbadhikari Chirabrata Majumder
2012-13 Nawneet Sodhani Sumita Ganguly
 * Expired in office


Home | Club History | Activities | Membership | J4U Job Fair | Paushi | Calendar | Bulletins | Postings | Downloads | Contact

Designed and Maintained by:
Rtn. Suman K. Sarbadhikari
CICO 2012-13
Click to email